Narragansett Salt Water Fishing Club
"Meet The Boys With The Orange Buttons"
One of the oldest Fishing Clubs in the state of Rhode Island chartered in 1936 by a group of surf casters. The club has been active for 75 years and survived some of this country's most troubled times. An amazing feat in this day and age. The Club presently has 105 members, during the 1940's and 50's it had as many as 800 members. Meetings were held at Rhodes on the Pawtuxet where an average meeting consisted of as many as 250 members in attendance. Members in those days included such anglers as Bob Linton, Dean of RI Charter skippers, Jerry Sylvester and Joe Tartorie of Narragansett, both of whom ran bait shops and were among the most accomplished surf fishermen in the Northeast. There are no longer any living charter members. Our distinctive emblem of the bust of a Narragansett Indian displayed on the outside of the Club and patches and buttons in bright orange led them to be known as "The Boys with the Orange Buttons." The Club competed in the R.J. Schaffer Fishing Tournament for many years and placed in the top ten several times. This consisted of clubs up and down the Atlantic Coast. Often this tournament saw over 300 clubs in competition that was said to be fierce. The Club won the East Coast Surf Casting title when it was sponsored by the Garcia Company in the 1960's. Members also fished in the Martha's Vineyard Bass and Bluefish Derby and placed in the top ten on numerous occasions.The NSWFC, while still a surf fishing group holding to its founder's roots for 75 years, having some of the finest surf casters in the Northeast, can now boast of having some of the area's best boat and fly fishermen among its members. Members have been active in the preservation of the marine environment and its fishes, while supporting strong conservation measures. It also works towards the goals of improved access, regulations and proper rules and management of the marine environment. It will remain our goal to promote and preserve the sport of surf casting and fishing for generations to come. The Club holds an annual fishing tournament for its members and conducts steak fries, family gatherings and other activities where members share their love of the outdoors. All historical documents, photos, newsletters, emblems, etc. are on permanent display and will be preserved for historical purposes in the I.G.F.A. Museum of Fishes in Los Olas, Fl. Visit our display if you are in Florida for a winter vacation. We were also honored by the I.G.F.A. as one of the oldest uninterrupted fishing clubs in the entire United States, and we are on record as part of angling history. In 1952 the Club had two options: buying the Towers in Narragansett, (today a historical landmark) for $30,000 or the old three story Atlantic hotel located in Matunuck for $5,000. The latter was chosen and the group bought the property in 1954 which became our permanent Club site. Over the early years, a floor had to be removed and more recently, much needed major renovations have been completed to the building. A new rod room for storage of rods, waders, fish and bait was constructed alongside the kitchen. A complete makeover from studs on up was done on the downstairs living area, while insulating the entire house in the process. In 2005 Life Member, Bill Kramer's generous donation allowed the Club to remove the deteriorated siding and replace it with maintenance free vinyl shingling. Through the efforts of members like Frank Cassidy who has been instrumental in each of these major renovations and other members with their wives, have restored and given new life to the "Old Atlantic." Let it stand as a tribute to the surf casters who began this organization so current and future members and their families will have the opportunity to enjoy this unique facility to its fullest for many years to come.